Aim of the School

For the 5th edition of this event there will be three kinds of tutorials: some dedicated to history of logic (Aristotle's logic, Jain Logic, Stoic Logic. Leibniz's logic, Kant's logic, Hegel's logic...), some dedicated to the relations/applications of logic to other fields (Logic and Music, Logic and Colour, Logic and Information, Logic and Fiction etc.), some dedicated to some important logical theorems (Gödel's Incompleteness theorem, Compactness theorem, Completeness theorem, Lindström's theorem, etc.)

ASL student travel awards are available

For PhD students, postdoctoral students and young researchers interested in logic, artificial intelligence, mathematics, philosophy, inguistics and related fields, this will be a unique opportunity to get a solid background for their future researches.


The idea is to promote between advanced students and researchers through the combination of the school and the congress (Participants of the School are strongly encouraged to submit a paper for the congress).

You can find here the list and description of the tutorials availbale at the universal school of logic.


School of Universal Logic

Each tutorial will be presented in 3 sessions of 1h15. The tutorials will be given by a wide range of logical scholars from around the world:

Nate Ackerman, Harvard University, USA

Franca D'Agostini, Polytechnical University of Turin, Italy

Patrick Allo, Free University of Brussels, Belgium

Peter Arndt, Regensburg University, Germany

Patrick Blackburn, University of Roskilde, Denmark

Bernd Buldt, Indiana University, Purdue University, Fort Wayne, USA

Bob Coecke, Oxford University, UK

John Corcoran, University at Buffalo, NY, USA

Marcelo Coniglio, UNICAMP, Campinas, Brazil

Luis Estrada-Gonzáles, UNAM, Mexico

Thomas Ferguson, City University of New York, USA

Elena Ficara, Paderborn University, Germany

René Gazzari, University of Tübingen, Germany

Marie-Hélène Gorisse, Ghent Centre for Buddhist Studies, Belgium

Katerina Ierodiakonou, University of Athens, Greece

Andrzej Indrzejczak, University of Lódz, Poland

Manuel Gustavo Isaac, University of Paris 3 and Paris 7, France

Dale Jacquette, University of Bern, Switzerland

Dany Jaspers, Katholic University Leuven, Belgium

Srećko Kovač, Institute of Philosophy, Zagreb, Croatia

Wolfgang Lenzen, University of Osnabrück, Germany

Ernie Lepore, Rutgers University, USA

Manuel Correia Machuca, Pontifical Catholic University of Santiago, Chile

Maria Manzano, University of Salamanca, Spain

Giovanni Mion, Istanbul Technical University, Turkey

Ingolf Max, Leipzig University, Germany

Amirouche Moktefi, Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia

Eduardo Ochs, UFF, Brazil

Newton Peron, Federal University of South Frontier (UFFS), Brazil

David Pierce, Mimar Sinan Fine Arts University, Istanbul, Turkey

Gergely Székely, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary

John Woods, University of Bristish Columbia, Canada