Alfred Tarski Logic Prize

1) The Prize will be awarded every two years.

2) Contestants should submit an unpublished paper (between 10 to 30 pages) in any area of logic, written in English.

3) The jury is composed of Polish researchers representative of all areas of logic and of the geography of the country.

4) The prize, besides being an honour, will support the winner's participation (housing + registration fee) in the World Congress of Universal Logic and the publication of the paper in the journal Logica Universalis, Birkhäuser.

5) There is no restriction of age, sex, race, nationality. Contestants need only to live in Poland  and be affiliated with a University (or other educational institution) in Poland.

Alfred Tarski Logic Prize 2021

i) Participation in UNILOG'2022 in Crete: housing + registration fees will be provided to the winner and the paper will be published in the journal Logica Universalis

ii) Send your paper by Dcember 4th, 2021 to mnasien@umk.pl

iii) Jury 2021
Tomasz Bigaj, University of Warsaw, Warsaw - Philosophy of Science
Janusz Czelakowski, University of Opole, Opole - Mathematical logic
Jacek Malinowski (Chair), Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw; Editor-in-Chief of Studia Logica - Philosophical Logic
Roman Murawski, Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań - Logic and Computation, History of Logic
Tomasz Połacik, University of Silesia in Katowice, Katowice - Formal semantics

Organizers of the Prize:
Andrzej Indrzejczak (University of Łódź)
Andrzej Pietruszczak
Marek Nasieniewski
(Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń)

This prize is part of the project A PRIZE OF LOGIC IN EVERY COUNTRY.


Alfred Tarski

Alfred Tarski (1901–1983) is one of the most important figures in the history of logic. Born in Warsaw, he was a student of Leśniewski and Łukasiewicz and soon became a central member of the Lwów–Warsaw school of logic. He then moved to the USA and founded a major group of logic at the University of California, Berkeley. His contributions touch nearly all the areas of logic: set theory, model theory (he coined the expression and was the main developer of this field), many-valued logic, the theory of consequence operator (founder), the theory of truth (creator), Boolean algebra and other fields.

The 2018 Winner was:
Zalán Gyenis (Jagiellonian University, Kraków, Poland) for his paper: “On the modal logic of Jeffrey conditionalization”