Bimal Krishna Matilal Logic Prize

1) Every two years is attributed a prize

2) Each contender should submit a non published paper (between 10 to 30 pages) in any area of logic, written in English only

3) The jury is formed by  5 Indian researchers representative of all areas of logic and the geography of the country

4) The prize, besides being honorific, supports the participation (housing + registration fee) of the winner in the World Congress of Universal Logic and the publication of the paper in the journal Logica Universalis, Birkhäuser

5) There is no restriction of age, sex, race, nationality. The contender only needs to live in India and be affiliated with a University (or other educational institution) in India.

Bimal Krishna Matilal Logic Prize 2018

i) Participation in UNILOG'2018 in Vichy, France: housing + registration fees will be provided to the winner and the paper wil be published in the journal Logica Universalis

ii) Submit your paper by February 18, 2018, using Easy Chair Logic Prize 2018

iii) Jury 2018
Amita Chatterjee, Jadavpur University, Kolkata - Philosophical Logic, Indian Logic and Cognitive Science
Rohit Parikh, City University of New York - Mathematical Logic, Logic for Computer Science, Social Software
Raja Natarajan, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai - Logic and Computer Science, Automated Theorem Proving
Hanamantagouda P. Sankappanavar, State University of New York at New Paltz - Algebraic Logic and Universal Algebra
Mihir K. Chakraborty (Chair), Jadavpur University, Kolkata - Non-classical logics, Foundations of Mathematics, Logical Diagrams

Organizer of the Prize:
Calcutta Logic Circle

This prize is part of the project A PRIZE OF LOGIC IN EVERY COUNTRY.


Bimal Krishna Matilal

Bimal Krishna Matilal (1935–1991) was at the same time an exponent of Indian logic and well conversant with modern/Western logical theories. He studied with Quine in the early 1960s and from 1977 to 1991 he was the Spalding Professor of Eastern Religion and Ethics at University of Oxford. He was the founder editor of the Journal of Indian Philosophy

The 2018 Winner is:
Thomas Jolly (International Institute of Information Technology, Hyderabad, India) for his paper: “Developing Metalogic to Formalize Ontological Disputes of the Systems in Metaphysics by Introducing the Notion of Functionally Isomorphic Quantifiers”