Newton da Costa Prize of Logic

1) Every year is attributed a prize

2) Each contender should submit a non published paper (between 10 to 30 pages) written in English

3) The jury is formed by  5 researchers working in Brazil representative of all areas of logic and the geography of the country

4) The prize, besides being honorific, supports the participation (travel + housing + registration fee) of the winner to an international event outside of Brazil and the publication of the paper in the journal Logica Universalis, Birkhäuser

5) There is no restriction of age, sex, race, nationality. The contender only needs to be affiliated to a University in Brazil.

Newton da Costa Prize of Logic 2015

i) Participation to UNILOG'2015 in Istanbul: airticket (sponsorised by SBL) + housing + registration fees will be provided to the winner

ii) Date for the submission of the paper: March 31st 2015, istanbul2015@uni-log.org

iii) Jury 2015
Décio Krause, UFSC - Logic and Philosophy of Science (President)
Dirk Greimann, UFF - History and Philosophy of Logic
Hugo Mariano, USP - Mathematical Logic
Ruy de Queiroz, UFPE - Logic and Computation
Walter Carnielli, UNICAMP - Non-Classical Logics

Winner 2015
Rodrigo Freire, University of Brasília

"First-order logic and first-order function"

This prize was the starting point of the project A PRIZE OF LOGIC IN EVERY COUNTRY, as explained in the paper Logic Prizes et Cćtera



Newton da Costa

First President of the Brazilian Society of Logic 
(Sponsor of the Prize)

President of Honor of  the
Brazilian Academy of Philosophy

Organizers of the Prize:
Jean-Yves Béziau (University of Brazil)
Itala D'Ottaviano (UNICAMP)

Award Ceremony 2015

Florianópolis, August, 20, 2015

From Left to Right:
- Marcelo Coniglio (President of the Brazilian Society of Logic)
- Itala D'Ottaviano (Organizer of the Prize)
- Newton da Costa
- Rodrigo Freire (Winner of the 1st Newton da Costa Prize of Logic - 2015)
- Jean-Yves Beziau (Founder and Organizer of the Prize, Vice-President of the Brazilian Socitey of Logic, Editor-in-Chief of Logica Universalis), organizer of UNILOG
- Décio Krause (President of the Jury 2015)